Leaving the Scene of an Accident — Hit And Run
There are two types of Leaving the Scene of an Accident charges, also known as Hit and Run. The first type is a second degree misdemeanor offense that is punishable by up to 60 days in the county jail, $500 fine, and/or 6 months of probation. According to Florida Statute 316.061, the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such crash or as close thereto as possible, and shall forthwith return to, and in every event shall remain at, the scene of the crash until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of Florida Statute 316.062. Depending on the severity of the accident you could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony leaving the scene. It is critical to contact our office immediately if you are facing this charge. There usually is evidence, such as 911 calls, that is only available for a limited amount of time. In addition to the criminal sanctions, if you get convicted for leaving the scene of an accident the DHSMV will assess 6 points on your driving record. However, based on the facts of the case and your criminal history the Prosecutor may exercise discretion and offer a withhold of adjudication. A withhold of adjudication means you are not formally convicted of the offense and will not have points assessed on your driving record.