Permitting Unauthorized Person to Drive
There are two ways a person can be charged with this traffic offense; either by permitting an unauthorized minor to drive or permitting an unauthorized operator to drive. In some cases by permitting an unauthorized person to drive, that results in an accident, the Court may suspend your license for 1 year in addition to any criminal penalties upon conviction. Both of these charges are criminal traffic violations charged as a second-degree misdemeanor. That means that the Judge can send you to jail for up to 60 days, impose a fine of up to $500, place you on probation up to 6 months, and order you to pay court costs and cost of prosecution.
Florida Statute 322.35 provides, no person shall cause or knowingly permit his or her child or ward under the age of 18 years to drive a motor vehicle upon any highway when such minor is not authorized. Florida Statute 322.36 provides, a person may not authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or her or under his or her dominion or control to be operated upon any highway or public street except by a person who is duly authorized to operate a motor vehicle under this chapter. This charge often arises when someone allows a friend or loved-one to operate their vehicle knowing that the person’s license is suspended or they are a habitual traffic offender.
If you are charged with this offense call our office to speak with one of our attorneys so we can represent your best interests in court.