Another common criminal traffic violation is Reckless Driving. A person can be charged with this crime if they are considered to bedriving a vehicle in a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. According to Florida Statute 316.192 even if this a first time offense a person could be facing up to 60 days in the county jail and/or a fine up to $500 upon conviction. If this is a second or subsequent offense a person could be facing up to 6 months in the county jail and/or a fine up to $1000. If there was damage to any person or property as a result of the reckless driving the penalties may be enhanced. If there is serious bodily injury to another as a result of the reckless driving a person could be charged with a third degree felony. A third degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in Florida State Prison. Furthermore, if the court has reasonable cause to believe that alcohol, chemical substances, or controlled substances are a factor a person may be facing additional sanctions. If you are convicted of this crime the DHSMV will assess 4 points on your driving record. Under the law, and based up the facts and your criminal history, the prosecutor can exercise discretion and offer a withhold of adjudication. That means that you will not be formally convicted of the offense and the DHSMV will not put points on your license.
Sometimes DUI cases are reduced to a reckless driving, a reduced charge in the State of Florida. Florida statute 316.192(5) allows the Court to accept a plea and sentence someone to a penalty if the Court determines that alcohol was a significant factor then the Court will order the driver to complete a DUI school and can place the motorist on probation for up to 12 months.
Our office has represented many clients charged with reckless driving. Contact one of our lawyers immediately to begin zealously working on your case. We are available 7 days a week.