Lake County

Lake County Traffic Ticket Attorneys

Lake County, Florida is located in central Florida and has a population of almost 300,000. The county seat is Tavares which is the location of the Courthouse. The county is huge in square miles, consisting of over 1,000 square miles. There are several incorporated areas of Lake County including Astatula, Clermont, Eustis, Fruitland Park, Groveland, Howey-in-the Hills, Lady Lake, Leesburg, Mascotte, Minneola, Montverde, Mount Dora, and Umatilla.

Law enforcement is very active in Lake County, Florida issuing close to 40,000 moving violations in the last year that statistics were available. Most unlawful speeding tickets are issued by the city police, although the Lake County Sheriffs Office and Florida Highway Patrol are very active. In 2007 law enforcement in Lake County arrested or issued criminal citations to over 8,500 drivers. Like most counties in Florida, most of the criminal citations were issued for no valid driver’s license in violation of Florida Statute 322.03 (1) or driving while license suspended with knowledge in violation of Florida Statute 322.34.

Lake county has several County and Circuit Court Judges. The County Court Judges listen to misdemeanor offenses where the maximum penalty is 11 months and 29 days in the county jail. Those Judges are Richard Boylston, Donna Miller, and Terry Neal. The Circuit Court Judges are Don Briggs, Mark Hill, T. Michael Johnson, William Law, Mark Nacke, Lawrence Semento, G. Richard Singeltary, and Michael Takac.

If you are facing a criminal charge or any traffic offense please call our office so we can discuss the particular facts of your case.