Martin County

Martin County

Martin County Courthouse, 100 East Ocean Blvd., Stuart, Florida 34994

Martin County, Florida is located on the east coast of Florida above Palm Beach County. The population of the county is estimated to be just shy of 140,000. The county seat is located in Stuart and that is the location of the Courthouse. Martin county is located within the 19th Judicial Circuit which comprises Indian River, Okeechobee, and Saint Lucie.

Martin County has three County Court Judges, David Harper, Stewart Hershey, and Kathleen Roberts. Martin County has five Circuit Judges, Gary Sweet, Steven Levin, Robert Makemson, Elizabeth Metzger, and Sherwood Bauer.

The Martin County Sheriffs Office is the primarily law enforcement agency in the county. They are assisted in law enforcement patrol by the Florida Highway Patrol, city police of Jupiter Island, Seawalls Point, and Stuart. Police in Martin County issued close to 21,000 moving infractions last year. Over half of those violations were for speed and many issued by the Florida Highway Patrol. There were over 1,000 careless driving tickets in violation of Florida Statute 316.1925. In addition almost 1,500 red light tickets were issued by Martin County law enforcement.

Aside from civil infractions, law enforcement in Martin County issued and/or arrested just short of 5,000 criminal citations. These citations ranged from almost 900 DUI arrests to over 2,600 motorists charged with not having a valid driver’s license in violation of Florida Statute 322.03 to driving while license suspended in violation of Florida statute 322.34.

City of Stuart Florida Police DepartmentIf you were arrested or having a pending case in Martin county as a result of an incident with the Jupter Island Police, Stuart Police, Seawalls Point, Martin County Sheriffs Office, or Florida Highway Patrol, please call our office so we can discuss the particular facts of your case.

Martin County has several unicorporated areas including Hobe Sound, Hutchinson Island, Indiantown, Jensen Beach, North River Shores, Palm City, Port Salerno, Rio, and Port Mayaca.