Monroe County

Monroe County Traffic Ticket Attorneys

Monroe County, Florida is located in the Florida Keys just south of Miami. The population of Monroe County is just shy of 80,000. The county seat is Key West and is the location of the main courthouse. There are several incorporated areas of the county including Key West, Marathon, Key Colony Beach, Layton, and Village of Islamorada. Unicorporated areas include Stock Island, Big Coppitt Key, Cudjoe Key, Big Pine Key, Duck Key, Tavernier, Key Largo, North Key Largo, Flamingo, Bay Point, and Sugarloaf Shores.

Law enforcement is extremely proactive in the county. US 1 is the main road in the county and the Florida Highway Patrol are constantly running speed enforcement details using radar and laser guns. Last year law enforcement issued close to 20,000 moving violations to motorists in the county. Over half of those violations were for unlawful speed and most of them were issued by the Florida Highway Patrol.

When not issuing civil infractions, law enforcement in Monroe County are extremely effective in enforcing criminal traffic laws. Over half of all criminal traffic citations issued within the county were for no valid driver’s license in violation of Florida statute 322.03 or driving while license suspended in violation of Florida statute 322.34. In addition, driving under the influence or DUI is a law that is strictly enforced within the county. The City of Key West has a DUI squad whose primary responsibility is DUI arrests. If you have been arrested for DUI or received a citation please call our office to discuss the facts of your particular case.