Florida’s Move Over Law
Florida has a move over law statute which will result in 3 points on your license if you fail to move over for an emergency vehicle. The law requires that any motorist must move over to the other lane when traveling on a roadway which has at least two or more lanes in the same direction. If you can not vacate your lane or traveling on a two lane roadway, the law states that you must decrease your speed to 20 mph less than the posted speed limit (when the speed limit is greater than 25 mph). When the speed limit is less than 20 mph, the law states that all motorists must travel at 5 mph. This law applies to all law enforcement, public safety vehicles, and service vehicles. The law is agressively enforced by Florida law enforcement officers, often as part of a wolf pack when a crew of officers is working at the same time.
If you have recevied a moving violation in any Florida county call our experienced attorneys so we can discuss the particular facts of your case and any possible legal defenses.